Visiting My Old Church

Captain’s Log  4,406

In many ways, my hometown is all about the church.  The Catholic church.  It is by far the most influential dogma that governs the hearts and minds of most of the citizens.  With 90% of the people belonging to the church, it has formed its own form of specialized community.  It’s neither good nor bad – it just is.

The church was crafted by immigrant craftsmen who brought their skills from Germany and Luxembourg over 100 years ago.  Most of the statues and glass were imported from Germany.  The building can be seen for miles as the photos to follow will illustrate.

About every 25 years or so, something major must be done to the building to preserve its integrity.  This time, they are replacing the roof and the copper plating.  It is an enormous project that is costing almost a million bucks.  But the congregation loves this church and the funds were raised quickly.  I find that more than amazing.

So here’s the photo tour.

Reaching to the sky.  I spent countless hours inside this church trying so hard to hear the voice of angels or Jesus.  I desperately sought direction and peace.  I found neither, but I certainly enjoyed the architecture.  Later I came to realize that what I was seeking was resting within my own soul.  It was not to be found in a building or a book.  I already had the answer.  Just like Dorothy, I had my own personal quest to understand these things.

Some of us climbed the bell tower all the way to the wooden slats.  It was great until the bell rang the half hour.  Good thing it wasn’t noon!

Amazing work.  When I asked why he wasn’t wearing a hard hat, my friends informed me that it wouldn’t do much good if he fell from that height.  Good point.

Inside view.  Grandiose.  Walked this proudly for my first communion, confirmation, graduation mass.  The last time I walked was for my mom’s funeral.

There is a perpetual blue candle here.  The Madonna always gets blue.

Preparing to place new copper on a turret.  They did all the copper crafting on the ground.  Truly amazing.

Stained glass so valuable it cannot be insured.  This is David getting down with his psaltry. 

I continue to be amazed when I walk inside this old church.  It was built with such care and determination, and it means so much to the people.  After all these years, it is still home to daily gatherings and celebrations.  Even though I am no longer spiritually connected to what this represents, I do appreciate the sanctuary it provides for those who need it. 

20 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

20 responses to “Visiting My Old Church

  1. susanna

    Wow, I just opened this and loved the pictures. Beautiful church. I would love to meditate in such a lovely sourrounding. The copper will be amazing.

  2. Yours is a lovely tribute to our treasured SM church and congregation. Thanks. One of my sons wrote the history of the church complete with the costs translated to today’s dollars. Those old Luxembourgers must have been at least a little bit crazy – but we certainly appreciate that craziness now.

  3. Built with love, I believe. We have some Italian churches of the same caliber in this state. I have come to believe — having seen moving services in makeshift quarters — that it’s the souls of the congregants that make the church holy.

  4. You say ‘old’ and ‘after so many years’ but it looks quite modern to me. Its a lovely building – when was it built? s x

    • poolagirl

      1902. I know that’s not old by British standards, but to us that is ancient!

      • Heehee! I guess so! I remember visiting ‘historic Mobile’ a few years ago and all the buildings of special historic interest were newer than the house I lived in at the time! I kind of forget that we got some stuff here thats SERIOUSLY old! s x

  5. For me, there is something very special about most churches. With the high ceilings, sound seems so crystal clear, the air smells different, the light is beautiful, music is very pleasing to the ear. And the stained glass windows are probably my favorite part. I used to sit during the Sunday sermons and just hypnotize myself looking at the rich colors in the glass. You are so right, it would be impossible to insure those pieces of art….they are priceless in every sense of the word. I remember the feeling in your church during your mother’s funeral…it was filled with emotion….

    Terri T.

  6. jo

    It is magnificent

  7. Jean

    Beautiful pics Poolie !!

  8. It’s an amazing piece of architecture. I can understand how it forms the basis for community. Beautiful pictures, Poolie!

Leave a Reply

