Steaming Along!

Captain’s Log  4,392

I took Roomie’s child unit with me yesterday to assist with the Steampunk Film Festival. When we got to the museum, the picnic was in full swing, and over 100 Steampunkers were enjoying lunch on the grass, having their photos taken with a Victorian camera, and…..flooding the exhibit floor with costumes and enthusiasm.  Child unit was duly impressed.

The film festival ran long.  We got home about 1:00 in the morning (after stopping at Denny’s for a well-deserved hot fudge sundae).  I could not be happier with how things are going.  Here are some examples of what I mean.

Something for everyone of all ages.  The lady in white came back later as a Victorian vamp and did some performance art as part of the film festival.  She even handed out chocolate!

Steampunk daughter brought her civilian mother to experience the picnic and the exhibit.  You can’t see her face, but mom had a great time!

This sub-culture embraces a variety of styles.  Obviously.  I like the girl’s silver robotic hand.

One of our exhibitors (wearing a crown) and a lady in classic attire.

Mr. Dapper.  What is so nice is that they also present Victorian manners.  They tip hats, shake hands, and say things like, “Lovely to be here, madame.”

One of my faves yesterday.  It’s not the size of your goggles or your wrench that matters.

My favorite robot on display.  His head is made from an old-fashioned wall pencil sharpener!  Remember those?

So……..I am very inspired again.  I need projects like this to keep my soul moving.  What’s next?

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

16 responses to “Steaming Along!

  1. goatbarnwitch

    What a cool exhibit! Congrats on putting it all together.

    • poolagirl

      It’s the biggest thing I have ever attempted at the museum. I was bowled over by the response the first weekend!

  2. debsiobhan

    Oh Poolie! This is 1000 kinds of awesome! I wish I could just zip over to the left coast so I could see it. (Thanks for the pictures so I almost can.)

  3. May I share your entry?

  4. I am so glad it’s worked out so well. Here’s hoping the SteamPunk project opens more doors to good things!

  5. Penny Tushingham

    Awesome. Another huge success under your belt!

    Pen Pen

  6. joaniebenson

    Far out.

Leave a Reply

